ICECO VL45 ProS 45L (47.5 qt) 12V Fridge Freezer, Secop

- Capacity
- 45 L / 47.5 qt (manual)
- Dimensions
- 28.1 x 15.9 x 18.1 in (manual)
- Weight
- 52.2 lb (manual)
- Temp Range
- 0°F to 50°F (manual)
- Compressor
- Secop
- Energy
- 0.510 kWh/24h lab figure, conditions not stated (manual)
- Ventilation
- Over 5 cm sides, 10 cm front outlet (manual)
- Battery Cutoff
- 9.6 / 10.4 / 11.1 V at 12 V (manual)
- Warranty
- 5 years compressor, 1 year other parts (manual)
Overview: who is this for?
The ICECO VL45 ProS is a 45-litre (47.5-quart) single-zone 12 V compressor fridge-freezer with a Secop compressor and a steel cabinet. It's the bigger sibling of the ICECO VL35 ProS: the same footprint, the same lid that opens from either side, and the same button control panel, in a cabinet 2.4 inches taller. That extra height is where the extra 10 litres come from.
What the Amazon link sells: the listing this page links to is "ICECO VL45 ProS Portable Refrigerator, Multi-directional Lid, Dual USB & DC 12/24V, AC 110-240V, 45L Steel Compact Refrigerator Powered by SECOP", model VL45, part number "VL45 Pro Single Zone", in black. ICECO also sells an older VL45 (non-Pro) and a newer VL45PLUS under different listings; those are different fridges with different dimensions, and this review covers only the VL45 ProS.
Choose this if:
- You want 45 litres in a single zone for a couple or a small family on 4–7 day stretches.
- You want a Secop compressor with a 5-year compressor warranty, at a mid-range price.
- Your fridge bay has the same footprint as a 35-litre fridge but about 20 inches of height to spare.
Skip this if:
- Payload or lifting matters. At 52.2 lb empty, it's heavy for a 45-litre fridge; the Dometic CFX2 45 is listed at 36.6 lb.
- You want app control. There is no Bluetooth or app on the ProS models.
- You need a freezer and a fridge at the same time. Look at the ICECO VL60 Dual Zone.
This is a research-based review. VanLifeKitchens doesn't test products hands-on. Specifications come from ICECO's VL35/45/60 ProS manual (version 7.0), ICECO's VL45 ProS product page and the Amazon listing we link to. Day-to-day behaviour comes from owner reports and is labelled that way. See how we research.
Capacity, dimensions and clearance
These are three separate numbers, and an install needs all three.
Interior capacity. ICECO's manual lists 45.0 litres (47.5 quarts). ICECO's product page says the removable basket system leaves height to store 13-inch-tall items, which means many wine bottles and 2-litre bottles can stand upright, where on the 35-litre VL35 ProS they often have to lie down.
External dimensions. ICECO's manual gives 28.1 x 15.9 x 18.1 inches (714 x 404 x 460 mm, L x W x H). The empty weight is 52.2 lb (23.7 kg).
Ventilation clearance. ICECO's manual asks for more than 5 cm (about 2 inches) at the left and right sides and 10 cm (about 4 inches) at the front air outlet. It gives that as the fix for its E4 and E5 error codes, which a starved or overheating compressor throws, and it warns that the compressor can fail at ambient temperatures above 55°C (131°F). With clearance, plan on roughly 32 x 20 inches of floor space, plus height above for the lid to open.
Lid and access. You load it from above. ICECO's manual says the lid can be opened from the right or the left, or removed entirely by pressing both latches in. That's a real advantage in a van, where the fridge often sits against a wall or under a counter: you can open it toward the aisle whichever side the fridge is on.
Wheels. None. ICECO lists a tie-down kit and a slide mount (its slide fits the VL35 ProS and VL45 ProS) as accessories sold separately. A fridge this heavy needs to be strapped to solid anchor points or mounted on a slide rated for it, not held with bungees.
Build and controls
The cabinet is steel. ICECO describes it as a "hardened durable steel case"; the Amazon listing calls it a "rugged metal body built to handle road vibration". The control panel is a weatherproof LED display with buttons for power, MAX and ECO modes, temperature, Celsius or Fahrenheit, and battery protection. There are 12/24 V DC sockets on both ends, so you can route the cable to whichever side suits the install, and USB ports that only work when the fridge is on DC power. A drain hole makes cleaning easier.
ICECO lists a temperature range of 0°F to 50°F (-18°C to +10°C). The Amazon listing says the compressor works stably at up to a 40-degree tilt, which is relevant for parking on slopes.
There's no Bluetooth, no Wi-Fi and no app. Some owners see that as a feature: nothing to pair or update. If you want to check the temperature from bed, add a separate wireless thermometer such as the AcuRite 00986M.
What's good:
- Secop compressor with a 5-year compressor warranty
- A lid that opens from either side or lifts off
- DC sockets at both ends
- Room for 13-inch items standing up, per ICECO
What's mediocre:
- 52.2 lb empty is heavy
- No app or remote monitoring
- 1-year warranty on everything except the compressor
Power consumption
Keep two kinds of number apart.
- Published power rating. ICECO doesn't publish a nameplate wattage or running current for the VL45 ProS in its manual. The manual says the supply line has a 15 A fuse inside the fridge. Wire and fuse the circuit to ICECO's instructions, and size the battery from the daily figure, not from a running current.
- Published daily energy. ICECO's manual lists 0.510 kWh per 24 hours for the VL45 ProS. ICECO says this figure "is only suitable for laboratory testing" and that actual consumption depends on conditions. It doesn't state the ambient temperature or setpoint.
At 12 V nominal, 510 Wh is about 42.5 Ah per day, an average of roughly 1.8 A.
| Conditions | Wh/day | Ah/day at 12 V | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICECO lab figure | ~510 | ~42 | ICECO manual |
| Cool shoulder season | ~400 | ~33 | Our estimate |
| Hot van, 95°F and up | ~770 | ~64 | Our estimate |
The cool and hot rows are our estimates, using the same scaling we apply to the VL35 ProS: consumption rises with the gap between the air around the fridge and the setpoint. Size your bank for the hot-day figure, not the average.
For comparison, ICECO's same manual lists 0.430 kWh for the VL35 ProS. The extra 10 litres cost about 80 Wh a day on paper.
Duty cycle and battery protection
The daily figure depends on duty cycle, the share of the day the compressor runs. Hot air, sun on the lid, a cramped bay, warm groceries and frequent lid openings all raise it. Pre-cooling food at home and keeping the fridge full but not packed tight both help.
ICECO's manual lists three battery-protection levels at 12 V, shown as cut-off / restart:
- Low: 9.6 V / 10.9 V
- Medium: 10.4 V / 11.7 V
- High: 11.1 V / 12.4 V
Use High if the fridge could draw from a vehicle starting battery. On a lithium house bank, use the lowest level your battery maker is comfortable with so the fridge doesn't cut out early.
Battery sizing
Working from ICECO's lab figure plus a summer margin:
- 100 Ah lithium with 200 W of solar: fine for weekends and mild weather; tight in hot weather once lights, fans and devices share the bank.
- 200 Ah lithium with 300 W of solar or alternator charging: comfortable for full-time use, including summer.
- Lead-acid: about double those amp-hours, because you only want to use about half the rated capacity.
Plug in your own climate and loads with the fridge battery calculator or the power calculator.
VL45 ProS vs the 45-litre alternatives
The obvious cross-shop is the Dometic CFX2 45. On published figures:
| Spec | VL45 ProS | CFX2 45 |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 45 L | 45 L |
| Height | 18.1 in | 19.4 in |
| Empty weight | 52.2 lb | 36.6 lb |
| Compressor | Secop | Dometic variable-speed |
| App | No | Bluetooth |
The VL45 ProS is lower, has the lid that opens from either side, and carries the 5-year compressor warranty. The CFX2 45 is much lighter, has Bluetooth, and Dometic's Australian listing gives a lower energy figure (0.86 Ah/h at 90°F ambient and 39°F inside, about 21 Ah/day) that comes from a different test and a different-refrigerant model. Our head-to-head comparison goes through it in detail.
Within ICECO's own range, the JP40 Pro is the choice if you want wheels and an app in a smaller box, and the VL60 Dual Zone if you need fridge and freezer at once.
How it fits a van kitchen
At 45 litres, the VL45 ProS is the size where couples stop having to shop every three or four days. Its 28.1 x 15.9-inch footprint is the same as the VL35 ProS, so it suits builds where the fridge sits in a floor-level bay or on a slide and there's height to spare. It's less suited to under-bed installs where the lid has to open beneath a platform: add the 18.1-inch cabinet height, the lid's swing and some air above, and you need well over 20 inches.
If you're still choosing a size, the what size 12V fridge guide has worked examples, and the 12V fridge buying guide covers compressor, insulation and clearance. For a front-opening alternative, see the chest vs upright guide.
Limitations
- Weight. 52.2 lb empty, over 15 lb more than the CFX2 45.
- Higher published energy figure than the 35-litre models, and ICECO doesn't state the test conditions.
- No app. Panel control only.
- Short non-compressor warranty. 1 year on everything else.
- No nameplate rating published in the manual.
Verdict
The ICECO VL45 ProS takes the formula that made the VL35 ProS a sensible mid-range pick, a Secop compressor, a steel case, a reversible lid and a five-year compressor warranty, and adds 10 litres by growing taller rather than longer. The trade-offs are weight and a higher published energy figure. For a couple who wants 45 litres without paying premium-brand prices, and who can live with 52 pounds and no app, it's a strong choice.
FAQ
How much power does the ICECO VL45 ProS use?
ICECO's manual lists 0.510 kWh per 24 hours, about 42.5 Ah per day at 12 V, as a laboratory figure without stated conditions. Cool weather pulls that lower. A hot van can push it up by half or more, so plan for around 60 Ah a day in summer heat.
What are the VL45 ProS dimensions?
ICECO's manual lists 28.1 x 15.9 x 18.1 inches (L x W x H) and 52.2 lb empty. Add more than 5 cm at each side and 10 cm at the front outlet for ventilation: roughly 32 x 20 inches of floor space.
Does the ICECO VL45 ProS have an app?
No. It has a button panel with an LED display and no Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. ICECO's JP40 Pro and GO20 have app control.
Can the VL45 ProS lid open from either side?
Yes. ICECO's manual says the lid opens from the left or the right, or lifts off completely when you press both latches in.
What warranty does the ICECO VL45 ProS have?
ICECO's manual gives 5 years on the compressor and 1 year on other parts and accessories.
Is the VL45 ProS the same as the ICECO VL45 or VL45PLUS?
No. ICECO sells all three. The VL45 ProS in this review has the 28.1 x 15.9 x 18.1-inch steel cabinet and 0.510 kWh/24h lab figure from the ProS manual. The older VL45 and the newer VL45PLUS have different dimensions and specifications.
Sources and verification
- ICECO VL35/45/60 ProS manual, version 7.0: specifications table, multi-directional lid, error-code clearance (5 cm sides, 10 cm front), battery-protection voltages, 24-hour consumption table, 15 A fuse, warranty, accessory catalog. https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0053/1536/2906/files/ICECO_VL354560_ProS_Manual_7.0_APP.pdf?v=1740649158 (checked 2026-10-11)
- ICECO VL45 ProS product page: steel case, side-opening lid, DC sockets at both ends, USB on DC only, 13-inch-tall item height, warranty. https://icecofreezer.com/products/vlpro45s-12v-refrigerator (checked 2026-10-11)
- Amazon US listing for ASIN B08ZSSN6N1, the listing this review links to: title, model and part number, feature bullets including the 40-degree tilt claim, and availability (checked 2026-10-11)
Compare with similar products
See how this stacks up against the other 12v fridges we've reviewed.
Head-to-head comparisons
Related Reviews

For: Large single zone with ice
Dometic CFX5 55IM 55L Electric Cooler with Ice Maker (97000050756)
A 55-litre single-zone CFX5 with a built-in ice maker, app control and a reversible lid. Dometic rates it at 1.55 Ah/h with the ice maker on (about 37 Ah/day at 90°F ambient) and advises switching the ice maker off when you don't need it. A premium fridge for well-powered builds.

For: Premium compact single zone
Dometic CFX5 25L Electric Cooler (97000050753)
The smallest CFX5: 25 litres with the same app, color display and VMSO 3.5 compressor as the CFX5 35, in a box 22.4 inches long. Dometic rates it at 1.03 Ah/h at 90°F ambient (about 25 Ah/day), only slightly below the CFX5 35, so buy it for size and weight rather than energy savings.

For: Compact dual-zone cooling
ICECO GO20 20L (21 qt) Dual Zone 12V Fridge Freezer, Secop (GO20WDS, White)
A compact 20-litre fridge-freezer with a removable divider for two separately set zones, a Secop compressor and app control, at 27.5 lb. ICECO lists 0.433 kWh per 24 hours as a lab figure (about 36 Ah/day, conditions not stated), close to its 35-litre fridges, so it suits small vehicles and weekends.