Skip to main content
12V Fridges

ICECO JP40 Pro 37L (40 qt) Wheeled 12V Fridge Freezer

For: Wheeled 40L, narrow baysPublished Updated By VanLifeKitchens EditorialResearched, not tested
ICECO JP40 Pro 37L (40 qt) Wheeled 12V Fridge Freezer — 12v fridges reviewed by VanLifeKitchens
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through one, VanLifeKitchens.com may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our picks are based on published specifications and owner reports, not on commissions. Read our full disclosure.
— 01Specifications
Capacity
37 L / 40 qt (ICECO manual)
Dimensions
28.5 x 13.8 x 18.0 in
Weight
39.1 lbs
Power Source
12/24V DC + 110-240V AC
Power Draw
0.323 kWh/24h (ICECO lab figure, standard test conditions; ~27 Ah/day at 12V)
Compressor
Secop (Danfoss)
Warranty
5 yr compressor / 1 yr parts
Ventilation
Over 5 cm at the sides, 10 cm at the front air outlet (ICECO manual)

Overview — who it's for

Looking for the ICECO JP30 Pro? The site found no current Amazon listing for it when it checked on 2026-10-10. The JP40 Pro reviewed here is the next size up in the same family. ICECO's JP30/40/50 ProS manual gives the two fridges the same 28.5 x 13.8 inch footprint and the same 0.323 kWh 24-hour lab energy figure. The JP40 is 2.1 inches taller and holds 40 quarts (37 L), against 31 quarts (30 L) for the JP30. The section "Looking for the ICECO JP30 Pro?" below compares them spec by spec.

The ICECO JP40 Pro is a single-zone 12V compressor fridge-freezer with a Secop (Danfoss) compressor, built-in wheels, a lid that opens from either side or lifts off completely, and Bluetooth app control. The Amazon listing we link sells it as the "ICECO JP40 Pro"; ICECO's manual calls the same fridge the JP40 ProS. One naming trap: the "40" is quarts, not liters. ICECO's manual lists it at 37.0 liters (40.0 quarts).

It sits in the mid-range price band, where most buyers are deciding between a no-name compressor fridge and one with a known compressor and a real warranty behind it. The JP40 Pro is firmly in the second camp.

Choose this if:

  • You move the fridge in and out of the vehicle on your own; the wheels and pull handle make that a one-person job.
  • Your bay is narrow. At 13.8 inches wide it fits places a 15–16 inch fridge won't.
  • You want app control as well as physical buttons, and a 5-year compressor warranty.
  • You haven't fixed your galley layout yet. The lid opens from either side and there are DC ports on both ends.

Skip this if:

  • You need a fridge and a freezer running at the same time. That's a dual-zone job, such as the ICECO VL60 Dual Zone.
  • Your bay is low. At 18.0 inches it is one of the taller fridges in our lineup.
  • The fridge lives on a fixed slide. There, the wheel and handle hardware just add length.

A note on method: VanLifeKitchens doesn't test products hands-on. Specs come from ICECO's JP30/40/50 ProS manual and product page, and from the Amazon listing. Anything about real-world behavior comes from patterns in owner reports. Where ICECO doesn't publish a number, we say so and don't guess.

Bottom line up front: the JP40 Pro is the fridge we point most first-time buyers to in this price range. You get a Secop compressor, a five-year compressor warranty, wheels and an app at a mid-range price. The trade-offs: the footprint is longer than 37 liters suggests, and ICECO's only energy figure is a lab rating with no stated test conditions, so draw in a hot van will run higher.

Capacity, dimensions and clearance

These are three different numbers, and buyers mix them up all the time.

Interior capacity. ICECO's manual gives 37.0 L / 40.0 qt. ICECO rates it at 52 standard 12-oz cans, 38 half-liter water bottles or 21 wine bottles. That is about the same as the ICECO VL35 ProS (35 L) and the Dometic CFX5 35 (36 L), not a size class up. The difference is shape: more height, less width.

ICECO's internal dimension graphic shows a stepped interior:

  • The main well is roughly 22.3 inches long, 9.5 inches deep and 13.8 inches tall.
  • There is an 8.2 x 8.2 inch step over the compressor at one end.

The tall main section takes upright two-liter bottles and milk jugs. The shelf over the compressor holds small items like butter, condiments and eggs. ICECO supplies one basket.

External dimensions. ICECO's manual lists 28.5 x 13.8 x 18.0 inches (724 x 351 x 457 mm). The 13.8-inch width is the number that matters most in a van: it slides between wheel wells and into narrow galley bays. The 28.5-inch length is the cost, because the wheel and handle hardware make it longer than a non-wheeled box of the same capacity.

Ventilation clearance. ICECO's manual asks for more than 5 cm (about 2 inches) on the left and right sides and 10 cm (about 4 inches) at the front air outlet. That figure appears in the fix for its E4/E5 error codes, which are the codes a starved or overheating compressor throws. So the space you actually need is about 32.5 x 17.8 inches of floor, plus height for the lid.

Weight. ICECO's manual lists 39.1 lb (17.7 kg) net. The Amazon listing says 38.4 lb, and some dealer listings say 41.6 lb. We go by the manual.

Because it's single zone, the whole box runs at one setpoint between -4°F and 68°F (-20°C to +20°C). You choose fridge or freezer for each trip, not both at once.

Looking for the ICECO JP30 Pro?

If you came here from our old ICECO JP30 Pro review, it's because the site found no current Amazon listing for the JP30 Pro when it checked on 2026-10-10, so we retired that page. The JP40 Pro is the closest model on Amazon: the same wheeled JP Pro chassis, made taller. ICECO's manual covers all three sizes and calls them the JP30, JP40 and JP50 ProS, while Amazon and most retailers drop the "S".

JP30 ProS vs JP40 ProS, from ICECO's JP30/40/50 ProS manual (V5.0):

SpecJP30 ProSJP40 ProS
Capacity31.0 qt (30.0 L)40.0 qt (37.0 L)
Outside (L x W x H)28.5 x 13.8 x 15.9 in28.5 x 13.8 x 18.0 in
Outside, mm724 x 351 x 403724 x 351 x 457
Net weight38.6 lb (17.5 kg)39.1 lb (17.7 kg)
24-hour energy (lab)0.323 kWh0.323 kWh

Both fridges share the same -4°F to 68°F single-zone range, the same three battery-protection levels, the same 5 cm side and 10 cm front ventilation gaps, and a Secop (Danfoss) compressor with 5 years of compressor cover and 1 year on other parts.

What the numbers mean for a JP30 buyer:

  • Size. The JP40 takes the same floor space and is 54 mm (about 2.1 inches) taller. That one dimension gives it 7 more liters (9 more quarts), about 23% more room. If you were planning a JP30 install, you only need to check the height under a counter or bench, plus room for the lid.
  • Energy. ICECO lists the same 0.323 kWh per 24 hours (about 27 Ah at 12V) for both. That's a lab figure with no stated test conditions, and a bigger box has more wall area to lose cold through. Even so, ICECO's own numbers give no reason to expect the extra 7 liters to cost much battery. On our estimates above, plan on about the same daily amp-hours for either one.
  • Weight. The difference is 0.5 lb. Weight is no reason to choose the smaller fridge.
  • Tall bottles. ICECO's manual doesn't give interior dimensions for the JP30. If its main well is shallower by the same 2.1 inches as the outside, it would be about 11.7 inches deep against the JP40's roughly 13.8 inches. That's our estimate, not an ICECO figure, and it's below the height of a typical 2-liter soda bottle. If you store bottles upright, measure the actual interior or choose the JP40.
  • Accessories. ICECO's slide mount page lists the JP30 Pro, JP40 Pro and JP50 Pro as compatible. The slide is about 28.1 x 18.4 x 2.62 inches closed and about 52.7 inches long fully open. It comes with four straps, but mounting screws aren't included. So a slide fitted for a JP30 also takes a JP40, as long as there's height above it. Insulated covers are a different story: the manual shows one cover for the JP30 ProS and a separate zip-adjustable cover shared by the JP40 and JP50 ProS, so a JP30 cover won't fit a JP40.

Who might still prefer the JP30's size: someone whose bay can't take the extra 2.1 inches of height. For a lower box, compare the ICECO VL35 ProS at 15.7 inches tall. It's wider at 15.9 inches and has no wheels.

Power draw & battery sizing

Keep the published power rating separate from daily energy use.

Published power rating. ICECO doesn't publish a nameplate wattage or current for the JP40 Pro in its manual or on its product page. Dealer listings give about 50 W while the compressor runs. Treat that as a dealer figure, not an ICECO spec. ICECO does list a 15A internal fuse.

Published daily energy. ICECO's manual and catalog both list 0.323 kWh per 24 hours for the JP40 ProS. ICECO says the figure "is only suitable for laboratory testing" and that actual consumption depends on conditions. It does not state the ambient temperature or setpoint. At 12V nominal, 323 Wh is about 27 Ah per day.

One trap if you read the manual yourself: its consumption table also lists an older non-Pro "JP40" at 0.482 kWh. That is a different, older fridge.

Because a lab rating understates what a hot van does to a fridge, here is a planning estimate based on duty cycle, with the assumptions written out so you can adjust them.

Assumptions:

  • 12V system.
  • The compressor draws about 50 W while running (about 4.2 A at 12V). This is the dealer figure, not an ICECO spec.
  • Fridge setpoint around 37°F.
  • Daily energy = running power × duty cycle (the fraction of the day the compressor runs) × 24 hours.
ConditionsDuty cycleWh/dayAh/day at 12V
ICECO lab figurenot stated~323~27
Mild, 60–70°F, shaded~25%~300~25
Moderate, 75–85°F~35%~420~35
Hot, 95°F+, poor airflow~50–60%~600–720~50–60

The last three rows are our estimates, not measurements. ICECO's lab figure lands between our mild and moderate rows. Running it as a freezer at 0°F or below adds a lot, often a third or more, because the gap between ambient and setpoint is much bigger.

Low-voltage cutoff. ICECO's manual gives three battery-protection levels at 12V, shown as cut-off / restart voltages:

  • Low: 9.6V / 10.9V
  • Medium: 10.4V / 11.7V
  • High: 11.1V / 12.4V

Use High if the fridge could ever draw from a vehicle starting battery. On a LiFePO4 house bank, pick the lowest level your battery maker is comfortable with, since lithium holds a high voltage until it's nearly empty.

What that means for your electrical system:

  • 100Ah LiFePO4 + 200W solar: comfortable for three-season use and moderate climates. Without solar, a full 100Ah lithium bank covers about two to three days of fridge-only use in moderate weather.
  • 200Ah LiFePO4 + 300–400W solar: the right target for full-time use in hot climates, or for running it as a freezer.
  • Lead-acid or AGM: plan on about double the amp-hours, because you only want to use about half of the rated capacity.

Run your own numbers in our fridge battery calculator or the van power calculator, and see the 12V fridge complete guide for sizing batteries and solar around a compressor fridge.

ICECO also lists MAX (fast-cooling) and ECO (energy-saving) modes. ECO is the one to leave on day to day. Use MAX for the first pull-down after loading warm food. ICECO's cool-down claim is 77°F to -4°F in 38 minutes, measured empty in its own lab at 77°F ambient.

Build, lid & controls

The JP Pro body is a molded shell with a brushed-metal-look band around the middle and reinforced corners. It isn't the metal cabinet of ICECO's VL series. It's lighter, and the wheels and handles are built into the shell instead of bolted on.

Wheels and handles. The wheels sit at one end and a fold-out pull handle at the other, so you tip the fridge back and roll it like carry-on luggage. ICECO also fits fixed side handles for two-person lifts. Owners mention the wheels more often than any other feature.

Lid. ICECO's "multi-directional" lid opens from the left or the right, or lifts off completely. In a van, that means you can set it to open toward the sliding door or the galley. If the fridge sits under a counter with little headroom, you can lift the lid off instead of swinging it up. Either way, you load it from above.

Ports on both ends. DC inputs on both ends let you route the cable from whichever end faces your power.

Controls and app. A small panel near the handle shows the set temperature and battery voltage, with physical buttons that work without a phone. The Bluetooth app (iOS and Android) lets you:

  • change the setpoint
  • switch modes
  • check the internal temperature
  • set battery protection

Bluetooth range is short. Owners generally describe the app as convenient rather than essential.

Tilt rating. ICECO's product page and Amazon listing say it keeps running at up to a 40° tilt. The manual doesn't give a tilt rating.

The usual caveats apply to a molded wheeled design. Wheels and axles are one more thing that can wear on a fridge dragged across gravel, and the plastic shell will scuff sooner than a metal cabinet. ICECO includes an insulated cover; use it if the fridge rides in a truck bed.

Noise & ventilation

ICECO doesn't publish a decibel rating for the JP40 Pro, and we haven't measured one, so we won't print a number. Owners usually describe Secop fridges of this size as a low hum during run cycles, with a faint click at start and stop. Light sleepers in a small van will hear it in a silent cabin.

Ventilation matters more than noise, both for power draw and for compressor life. Keep the 5 cm sides and 10 cm front outlet clear, as ICECO specifies. A hot, boxed-in compressor bay can push the duty cycle from the "moderate" row of the table above to the "hot" row. ICECO says the compressor can fail at ambient temperatures above 55°C (131°F). A closed van in summer sun can approach that, so park in shade and vent the van.

Alternatives

  • ICECO VL35 ProS: ICECO's metal-cabinet single zone. It's lower (15.7 inches) and wider (15.9 inches), heavier at 48.7 lbs, with no wheels and no app. Pick it for a low bay.
  • ICECO VL60 Dual Zone: 60 liters with separate fridge and freezer compartments. Much bigger and heavier, and it needs a bigger battery bank.
  • Dometic CFX5 35: Dometic's premium 36-liter option, for buyers who want vacuum insulation and are willing to pay considerably more.
  • Dometic CFX2 45: a genuinely bigger, 45-liter single-zone Dometic.
  • BougeRV 30 Qt: a smaller, much cheaper compressor fridge for occasional use.
  • Alpicool C20: the budget entry point for solo travelers who need very little space.

Verdict

The ICECO JP40 Pro gets the important things right at a mid-range price:

  • a Secop compressor with a five-year compressor warranty
  • a 37-liter (40-quart) single zone that suits most solo travelers and many couples
  • a narrow 13.8-inch body

The wheels, the reversible lid, the ports on both ends and the Bluetooth app are useful extras, especially if your fridge moves in and out of the vehicle.

The weaknesses are real:

  • The wheeled chassis is long and fairly tall for its capacity.
  • The molded shell is less rugged than ICECO's metal VL cabinets.
  • ICECO's only energy figure, 0.323 kWh per 24 hours, is a lab number with no stated test conditions, so plan for more in a hot van.

None of that outweighs the value for most buyers.

FAQ

What does the ICECO JP40 Pro replace?

It's the closest current Amazon option to the ICECO JP30 Pro, which had no current Amazon listing when the site checked on 2026-10-10. It uses the same wheeled JP Pro chassis and the same 28.5 x 13.8 inch footprint. Per ICECO's manual it is 2.1 inches taller (18.0 inches against 15.9) and holds 40 quarts (37 L) instead of 31 quarts (30 L), with the same 0.323 kWh 24-hour lab energy figure. ICECO's manual lists its net weight at 39.1 lb.

Is the JP40 Pro 40 liters?

No. ICECO's manual lists it at 37.0 liters, or 40.0 quarts. The "40" in the name is the quart figure.

How much power does the ICECO JP40 Pro use per day?

ICECO's manual lists 0.323 kWh per 24 hours, about 27 Ah at 12V. ICECO labels it a laboratory figure and doesn't state the test conditions. In real van use, our estimate is roughly 25–35 Ah (300–420 Wh) per day in mild to moderate weather, rising to 50–60 Ah in hot conditions or when running it as a freezer.

How much space does it need around it?

ICECO's manual asks for more than 5 cm (about 2 inches) on the left and right sides and 10 cm (about 4 inches) at the front air outlet. Don't box it into a closed cabinet without a vent path.

Can the JP40 Pro run as a fridge and freezer at the same time?

No. It's single zone, so the whole compartment holds one setpoint between -4°F and 68°F. If you need both at the same time, look at a dual-zone model like the ICECO VL60.

What compressor does the JP40 Pro use?

ICECO specifies a Secop (Danfoss) compressor but doesn't publish the model number. ICECO covers the compressor for 5 years and other parts for 1 year.

What size battery do I need for the ICECO JP40 Pro?

For three-season use in moderate weather, a 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with about 200W of solar is comfortable. For full-time use in hot climates, or for running it as a freezer, aim for 200Ah of lithium and 300–400W of solar. Lead-acid banks need about double the amp-hours, because you should only use about half their capacity.

Does the ICECO JP40 Pro work without the app?

Yes. The front panel has physical buttons and a display for temperature and settings, so the Bluetooth app is optional.

Will the JP40 Pro fit where my JP30 Pro was?

Probably. Length and width are identical at 28.5 x 13.8 inches, so the only question is height. ICECO's manual lists the JP40 ProS at 18.0 inches tall and the JP30 ProS at 15.9 inches. Check that you have about 2 extra inches of clearance, plus room to open the lid and ICECO's side and front ventilation gaps.

Does an ICECO JP30 slide mount or cover fit the JP40 Pro?

The slide mount does. ICECO's slide mount page lists the JP30 Pro, JP40 Pro and JP50 Pro as compatible, so check only the height above it. The insulated cover doesn't: ICECO's manual shows one cover for the JP30 ProS and a separate one shared by the JP40 and JP50 ProS.

Sources and verification

  • ICECO JP30/40/50 ProS manual V5.0 (PDF), cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0053/1536/2906/files/ICECO_JP304050_ProS_Manual5.0_APP.pdf: the model table (dimensions, net weight, capacity, temperature range), the 24-hour consumption table, battery-protection voltages, ventilation clearance and insulated cover fitment. Checked 2026-10-10.
  • ICECO fridge slide mount page, icecofreezer.com/products/slide-mount-for-vl45-60s-12v-portable-refrigerator: JP30/40/50 Pro compatibility, closed and open dimensions, straps included, screws not included. Checked 2026-10-10.

We couldn't independently confirm the absence of an Amazon JP30 Pro listing on 2026-10-10, because Amazon's search page didn't load for us. That finding is the site's own check on that date.

Share
Deciding?

Compare with similar products

See how this stacks up against the other 12v fridges we've reviewed.

Open Comparison Tool

Head-to-head comparisons

Related Reviews